Recommend to your Librarian

Weir of Hermiston, by Robert Louis Stevenson

R. L. Stevenson
Edited by Gillian Hughes

eBook (ePub) i

Explores the detailed evolution of the work through its composition and on to eventual posthumous publication

Stevenson’s unfinished masterpiece, Weir of Hermiston, has been entirely re-edited from his final manuscript, revealing a rather different novel from the bowdlerised version produced posthumously by his friends. Stevenson revisits the conflicted Scotland of James Hogg and Sir Walter Scott as well as that of his own youth, but also responds to recently published novels. A substantial essay explores the complex early publication history of the novel on both sides of the Atlantic, and exceptionally full explanatory notes and other background information are provided.

Show more


Chronology of Robert Louis Stevenson
1. Life and Death of Mrs Weir
2. Father and Son
3. In the Matter of the Hanging of Duncan Jopp
4. Opinions of the Bench
5. Winter on the Moors
6. A Leaf from Christina's Psalm-Book
7. Enter Mephistopheles
8. A Nocturnal Visit
9. At the Weaver's Stone
Essay on the Text
Emendation List
End-of-Line Hyphens
Historical and Geographical Note
Explanatory Notes

About the Author

Robert Louis Balfour Stevenson was a Scottish novelist, poet, essayist, and travel writer. His most famous works are Treasure Island, Kidnapped and Strange Case of Dr Jekyll and Mr Hyde.

Gillian Hughes is Advisory Editor to The New Edinburgh Edition of the Works of Robert Louis Stevenson. She was editor and/or general editor for many volumes in the Stirling/South Carolina Hogg edition, founding editor of the journal Studies in Hogg and his World, and is the author of James Hogg: A Life (Edinburgh University Press, 2007). Her current projects include an edition (co-edited with Peter Garside) of the Shorter Verse of Walter Scott.

Also in this series

You might also like ...