Recommend to your Librarian

The Edinburgh Companion to Irvine Welsh

Edited by Berthold Schoene

eBook (PDF) i

The subcultural enfant terrible of devolutionary protest and rebellion, Irvine Welsh is now widely acknowledged as the founding father of a whole new tradition in post-devolution Scottish writing. The unprecedented worldwide success of Trainspotting, magnified by Danny Boyle's iconic film adaptation, revolutionised Scottish culture and radically remoulded the country's self-image from dreamy romantic hinterland to agitated metropolitan hotbed. Though Welsh's career is very much an ongoing phenomenon, his influence on contemporary Scottish literary history is already quite indisputable and enduring.


Series Editor's Preface
A Brief Biography
Introduction, Berthold Schoene
1. Welsh and Tradition, Alice Ferrebe
2. Welsh's Novels, Matt McGuire
3. Welsh's Shorter Fiction , David Borthwick
4. Trainspotting, the Film, Duncan Petrie
5. Welsh and Gender, Carole Jones
6. Welsh, Drugs and Subculture, Berthold Schoene
7. Welsh and the Theatre, Adrienne Scullion
8. Welsh and Identity Politics, Gavin Miller
9. Welsh and Edinburgh, Peter Clandfield and Christian Lloyd
10. Welsh in Translation, Katherine Ashley
Further Reading
Notes on Contributors

About the Author

Berthold Schoene is Professor of English and Director of the English Research Institute at Manchester Metropolitan University. He is the editor of The Edinburgh Companion to Contemporary Scottish Literature (EUP, 2007) and author of The Cosmopolitan Novel (EUP, 2009) and Writing Men (EUP, 2000).


The Edinburgh Companion to Irvine Welsh makes a major contribution to this reassessment while implicitly confirming Welsh's standing as a major Scottish writer.
- Robert Morace, Daemen College, Scottish Literary Review

"The combination of critical approaches, informe by theoretical perspectives and detailed readings of the primary texts, make this an essential source for students and researchers working on Welsh."

- Years Work in English Studies, vol 91, no 1, 2012

Also in this series