Recommend to your Librarian

Introductions and Notes from the Magnum Opus

Waverley to a Legend of the Wars of Montrose

Walter Scott
Edited by J. H. Alexander


Between 1829 and 1833 the first complete edition of Scott's fiction appeared, in 48 volumes issued one a month, each illustrated with two engravings, and with introductions and notes by Scott himself. The Magnum Opus, as it was familiarly called, was a project which aimed to reduce the enormous debt of over £126,000 which landed on Scott during the financial crisis of 1825-26, but it was much more than an exercise in book-making.

Show more

About the Author

Sir Walter Scott, was a Scottish historical novelist, playwright and poet. Many of his works remain classics and include Ivanhoe, Rob Roy, Waverley, The Heart of Midlothian and The Bride of Lammermoor.

J. H. Alexander is Reader Emeritus in English at the University of Aberdeen.

Also in this series