Recommend to your Librarian

From Agamben to Zizek

Contemporary Critical Theorists

Edited by Jon Simons

Hardback i (Printed to Order)
eBook (ePub) i
eBook (PDF) i

In these 15 taster essays you will discover the key concepts and critical approaches of the theorists who have had the most significant impact on the humanities since 1990. On completing each chapter, you will find suggestions for further reading so that you can find out more and start applying the ideas in question. In addition to chapters on individuals such as Badiou, Rancière and Spivak, there are chapters on Laclau and Mouffe, and a chapter on Green critical theorists.

Show more


Notes on Contributors
Introduction, Jon Simons

1. Giorgio Agamben (1942 -), Paul Hegarty
2. Alain Badiou (1937 -), Benjamin Robinson
3. Zygmunt Bauman (1925 -), Peter Beilharz
4. Homi K. Bhabha (1949 -), David Huddart
5. Judith Butler (1956 -), Moya Lloyd
6. Cornelius Castoriadis (1922-1997), Caroline Williams
7. Green critical theorists, David Kidner
8. Donna J. Haraway (1944 -), Joan Faber McAlister
9. Ernesto Laclau (1935 -) and Chantal Mouffe (1943 -), Simon Tormey
10. Bruno Latour (1947 -), Ilana Gershon
11. Antonio Negri (1933 -), Arianna Bove
12. Jacques Rancière (1940 -), Samuel A. Chambers
13. Gayatri Chakravorty Spivak (1942 -), Stephen Morton
14. Paul Virilio (1932 -), John Armitage
15. Slavoj Žižek (1949 -), Matthew Sharpe

About the Author

Jon Simons is an Associate Professor in the Department of Communication and Culture at Indiana University who has broad expertise in contemporary critical theory. He is the author of Foucault and the Political (Routledge, 1995) and the editor of and contributor to From Kant to Lévi-Strauss: The Background to Contemporary Critical Theory and Contemporary Critical Theorists: From Lacan to Said (Edinburgh University Press, 2002 & 2004 respectively).

You might also like ...