Recommend to your Librarian

Delict Essentials

Francis McManus

Edition: 3

eBook (ePub) i
eBook (PDF) i

Your user-friendly study and revision guide to the components of the Scots law of delict

New for this edition

  • Includes updates to the law in negligence, nuisance and vicarious liability

From defamation to dangerous animals, and from negligence to nuisance, Delict Essentials will introduce you to the Scots law of delict. Fully updated for the third edition, this concise guide will give you the key facts that you need, whether you’re a busy law student, revising for those all-important exams or looking to brush up on your knowledge. It will also be useful for those studying comparative criminal law or tort across different jurisdictions.


Table of Cases
Table of Statutes
1. Introduction
2. Negligence
4. The Law of Nuisance
4. Occupier’s Liability
5. Product Liability
6. Defamation
7. Breach of Confidence
8. Liability for Animals
9. Breach of Statutory Duty
10. Vicarious Liability
11. Defences
12. Remedies

About the Author

Francis McManus is Honorary Professor of Law at the University of Stirling and Emeritus Professor of Law at Edinburgh Napier University. He has been teaching law for over 40 years. He has published several successful textbooks including Delict: A Comprehensive Guide (Edinburgh University Press, 3rd edition, 2017), Environmental Law in Scotland: An Introduction and Guide (Edinburgh University Press, 2016) and is a contributor to Why Noise Matters: A Worldwide Perspective on the Problems, Policies and Solutions by John Stewart (Routledge, 2016).

Inspection Copy

You must log in or register to request an inspection copy.

Also in this series

You might also like ...